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NEW JERSEY
PAID FAMILY & MEDICAL LEAVE

WHAT EMPLOYERS
%" ¢ | NEED TO KNOW




> This presentation provides general information,
not legal opinion.

> NJDOL works to keep this information timely and
accurate. However, there will often be a delay
between official publications of the materials
and modifications.

> The NJ Register and the NJ Administrative Code

remain the official sources for regulatory information
published by the NJDOL.



NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND

WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT

The New Jersey Department of Labor & Workforce

Development is dedicated to protecting our
workforce, strengthening our businesses and

promoting the dignity of work.
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NOW MORE THAN EVER,
EMPLOYEES NEED TIME
TO GIVE AND RECEIVE CARE.

The U.S. is the only advanced economy without a
national paid family leave policy — NJ is one of the
few states that has one!

NJ Paid Family & Medical Leave benefits can cover:
* lliness (physical or mental) or injury

* Pregnancy and childbirth

* Bonding with a new child

 Caring for a loved one

* Coping with domestic or sexual violence
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NJ PAID FAMILY & MEDICAL

LEAVE IS MADE UP OF:

* NJ TEMPORARY DISABILITY INSURANCE (TDI)

* NJ FAMILY LEAVE INSURANCE (FLI)

These programs are different from the federal Family
and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), which offers unpaid,
job-protected leave for specified family and medical
conditions. We'll explain how this law, and other forms
of job-protected leave, relate to our benefit programs.




HOW CAN THESE PROGRAMS

HELP YOUR BUSINESS?

NJ Paid Family & Medical Leave:
* Supports employee health
* Boosts employee morale and job satisfaction

* Helps with employee retention which reduces
turnover costs

* Increases labor force participation, especially
for women

* Allows small businesses that cannot afford
private plans to compete with larger organizations




WHICH EMPLOYERS ARE COVERED
FOR TEMPORARY DISABILITY
AND FAMILY LEAVE INSURANCE?

* Most employers must participate in these State public
insurance programs and deduct payroll taxes for employees
working in NJ or provide employees coverage through a
private insurance plan that meets State of NJ requirements.

* The federal government is exempt

» Temporary Disability is optional for local governments, for
example, counties, municipalities, and school districts

* Generally, employees working substantially outside of
New Jersey are not covered

For more information on private insurance plans, see:
myleavebenefits.nj.gov/privateplan




WHICH EMPLOYEES

ARE ELIGIBLE?

For your employee's claim to be approved they must:
* Work for a covered employer

* In 2024, have worked 20 weeks total earning at least $260
weekly or have earned a combined total of $14,200 in the
base year

» The standard base year refers to the first four of the last
five completed calendar quarters before the worker's
claim begins.




WHAT BENEFITS CAN
EMPLOYEES RECEIVE?

* Benefits are 85% of an employee’s average weekly
wage with a maximum of $1,055 per week in 2024

* For Temporary Disability Insurance: up to 26 weeks
of benefits, as certified by a medical professional

* For Family Leave Insurance: up to 12 weeks of
benefits if taken consecutively, 56 days of benefits
if taken intermittently
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Both New Jersey workers and employers contribute to
the cost of the Temporary Disability Insurance program.
Workers contribute through deductions taken out of their
paychecks. However, in the 2023 & 2024 calendar years,
no worker contribution deductions will be taken.

* In 2024, the contribution rate for employers varies from
0.10% to 0.75% on the first $42,300 earned by each
employee.

The Family Leave Insurance program is financed 100% by
worker payroll deductions. Employers do not contribute to

the program.




THE EMPLOYER ROLE

* The employer’s role in the application process has changed:
no longer an “employer portion”

* Must display TDI and FLI posters in a workplace location
clearly visible to employees

* Provide written notice of TDI and FLI when an employee is
hired, requests information, or notifies an employer of their
need for leave

* Report employee’s quarterly earnings to the state

* We advise that you keep track of notifications that an
employee is receiving benefits, and check for accuracy

> If you notice any discrepancies or incorrect payments,
please report them to the division in a timely manner -
contact our customer service center at (609) 292-7060
or submit corrected statements via fax to (609) 984-4138.



HOW EMPLOYERS CAN HELP

EMPLOYEES UTILIZE
THEIR BENEFITS

» Keep them informed - use our employer toolkit and
share our resources:
myleavebenefits.nj.gov/employerkit

* We encourage you to assist employees with their
application, but it is their responsibility to submit a
complete application

* Direct them to myleavebenefits.nj.gov to file their claim
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FORMS REQUESTED

* If we do not get all requested information from the
employee, you may be required to supply some information.

These items include:

E10 Request for Information: Last physical date
of work, wages, or payments to employee during
disability or family leave period

E20 Request for Additional Wage Information:
Employee’s quarterly wages to establish valid claim

* Failure to complete these documents may result in denial of
benefits for the employee and a monetary penalty for you




PAID TIME OFF PRIORTO

DISABILITY AND FAMILY LEAVE

* Employers can require employees to use paid time off before
claiming Temporary Disability Insurance benefits. However,
employers may not require employees to utilize their NJ
Earned Sick Leave.

* The State of NJ may only require state employees to use up to
two weeks of accrued sick time before receiving Temporary
Disability Insurance benefits, although the State of NJ may not
require state employees to use their last week of sick time
before receiving Temporary Insurance benefits.

* Employees may choose to use accrued paid time off before
claiming Family Leave benefits, although employers cannot
require it. If an employee chooses to use paid time off before
claiming Family Leave Insurance benefits, it will not reduce
the maximum duration of benefits to which the employee
is entitled.
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FAMILY LEAVE FOR

PART-TIME EMPLOYEES

* Employees with multiple jobs may collect Family
Leave benefits if they only take leave from one
employer, provided that they do not exceed their
usual work schedule in their other job.

* The employee’s weekly benefit rate will be based only
on wages from the employment from which they are
taking leave. (As of July 1, 2020)
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EXPERIENCE RATING: IS OUR COMPANY/

ORGANIZATION CHARGEABLE?

* For Temporary Disability Insurance claims, benefits are charged
against the experience rating account of the last employer the
applicant worked for prior to the start of their claim. The law provides
no alternate criteria for liability such as length of employment, if
work was considered full- or part-time employment, amount of
earnings, or circumstances surrounding separation with the last
employer.

* For Family Leave Insurance claims, there is no charge against the
employer’s experience rating
HOW DO | FILE AN APPEAL?

* An employee or employer who disagrees with a determination can
file an appeal

* It must be in writing and received within 10 days of the mailing date
of the determination

* See our employer information at myleavebenefits.nj.gov for the
online form



USES FOR NJ PAID FAMILY

& MEDICAL LEAVE

¢

Lets review the scenarios for which an
employee may receive Temporary Disability
or Family Leave benefits
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EMPLOYEE'S ILLNESS OR INJURY:
TEMPORARY DISABILITY

INSURANCE

* |If an employee cannot work due to physical and mental
illnesses or injuries

* May receive up to 26 weeks of benefits, as certified by a
medical professional

* With employer approval, employees who have been unable to
work due to a disability can transition back into the workplace
on a partial schedule and still receive partial Temporary
Disability Insurance benefits (as of June 2020)



CARING FOR A LOVED ONE:
FAMILY LEAVE INSURANCE

» If an employee cannot work because they must care for a
loved one with a physical and mental illness or injury

» Also covers care for a loved one coping with domestic or
sexual violence

» A medical provider must certify the need for care



CARING FOR A LOVED ONE:

FAMILY LEAVE INSURANCE (continued)

Who is a considered a “Family Member” in the law?
» Child (biological, adopted, * In-laws
foster, stepchild) » Chosen fam||y

- Spouse (includes domestic - Any blood-relation
partner and civil union partner) g the claimant

* Parents « Any other individual
» Siblings with a close association
- Grandparents equivalent of a family

» Grandchildren relationship

Claims may be filed for
* 12 consecutive weeks » Up to 56 intermittent days



BENEFITS FOR NEW PARENTS:
TEMPORARY DISABILITY AND

* For pregnancy and childbirth recovery, a birthing parent can
typically receive 4 weeks of benefits prior to the due date
and 6-8 weeks for recovery (with complications, a doctor
may certify more benefits)

* Then, the birthing parent can receive Family Leave benefits
to bond with their new child, within a year of the birth; up
to 12 consecutive weeks or 56 intermittent days

 Typical benefits for a birthing parent without complications:

» 4 weeks for pregnancy + 6 weeks for recovery
+ 12 weeks for bonding = 22 weeks total



BONDING WITH A NEW CHILD:
FAMILY LEAVE INSURANCE

* Both parents can receive Family Leave benefits to
bond with a child within a year of the child’s birth,
adoption, or foster placement

» Up to 12 consecutive weeks

» Up to 56 intermittent days




COPING WITH DOMESTIC OR SEXUAL VIOLENCE:

FAMILY LEAVE OR TEMPORARY
DISABILITY INSURANCE

« An employee can apply for Family Leave benefits to cope with
domestic or sexual violence

» Coping with domestic or sexual violence includes many things,
such as:

» Seeking medical attention, therapy, victim advocacy, or
legal services

» Safety planning or escaping abuse, such as staying in a
domestic violence shelter

> Attending or preparing for court
> Recovering at home
Can receive Family Leave benefits for
* 12 consecutive weeks * Up to 56 intermittent days

» An employee could receive Temporary Disability benefits for a
medical condition resulting from domestic or sexual violence
for up to 26 weeks, as certified by a medical provider




JOB PROTECTION

Temporary Disability and Family Leave Insurance
are partial wage replacement programs and they
do not provide job protection. However, during

the period in which they are receiving TDI or FLI
benefits, an employee's job may be protected
under the following laws:




JOB PROTECTION (continued)

Federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)

» Enforced by US Department of Labor:
dol.gov/agencies/whd/fmla

» Employees can receive up to 12 weeks of unpaid,
job-protected leave to:

» Care for their own illness or injury

» Care for a spouse, child, or parent with a serious
health condition

> Bond with a newborn, newly adopted, or foster child



JOB PROTECTION (continued)

Federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)

» Generally applies to employers with 50 or more employees
within 75 miles of the worksite, or a government entity
regardless of size

» Employee must have worked there for at least 12 months

» Must have worked at least 1,250 hours in the past
12 months

» Employee must give you 30 days’ notice if their need
for leave is foreseeable

« All these requirements must be met or you are not
required to hold your employee's job



JOB PROTECTION (continued)

New Jersey Family Leave Act (NJFLA)
» Enforced by the NJ Division on Civil Rights: njcivilrights.gov

» Employees can receive up to 12 weeks of unpaid,
job-protected leave to:

» Care for a family member, or someone who is the
equivalent of family, with a serious health condition

» Care for or bond with a new child



JOB PROTECTION (continued)

New Jersey Family Leave Act (NJFLA)

» Generally applies to employers with 30 or more employees
worldwide, or government entities regardless of size

» Employee must generally give you 30 days’ notice if need
for leave is foreseeable




PAID AND JOB-PROTECTED LEAVE

DURING PREGNANCY AND RECOVERY

‘_\ During Pregnancy é While Bonding

& & Recovery With Baby

© How to Receive © How to Receive
Benefits Benefits

Temporary Disability Family Leave Insurance

Insurance

Apply at: Apply at:

myleavebenefits.nj.gov/ myleavebenefits.nj.gov/

maternity maternity

New parents can transition \

directly to bonding benefits



PAID AND JOB-PROTECTED LEAVE
DURING PREGNANCY AND RECOVERY

¢ During Pregnancy ® While Bonding
& &y
& Recovery With Baby

Z Job Protection Z Job Protection
Federal Family and Medical NJ Family Leave Act
Leave Act (FMLA) (NJFLA)
Enforced by US Department Enforced by NJ Division
of Labor on Civil Rights
dol.gov/agencies/whd/fmla njcivilrights.gov

Employees can take up to 12 weeks of FMLA
for pregnancy/recovery and/or a serious
health condition related to pregnancy +

up to 12 weeks of NJFLA for bonding = up
to 24 weeks of job protection



JOB PROTECTION (continued)

New Jersey SAFE Act

» Employees can receive up to 20 days of unpaid,
job protected leave to cope with domestic or
sexual violence

» Generally applies to employers with 25 or more
employees and government agencies

> For more information on the SAFE Act, visit
myleavebenefits.nj.gov/jobprotection




RETALIATION

* It is unlawful for an employer to retaliate against an
employee for taking or seeking to take their Temporary
Disability or Family Leave benefits. If retaliation occurs,
an employee has the right to take private legal action.

Retaliation includes, but is not limited to:
* Firing an employee

* Reducing their salary
* Increasing oversight on their job duties
» Changing their workplace responsibilities
* Excluding them from meetings
* Learn more at myleavebenefits.nj.gov/jobprotection




CONTACT US

Need Help With Your Claim?

Customer Service:
Website:

Mailing Address:

Fax Number:
Debit Card Help:
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QUESTIONS?
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Please see our employer toolkit for resources,
including printable handouts, our podcast, and more:

myleavebenefits.nj.gov/employerkit
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